Johnson County Gov’t – Meeting Synopsis 7/15/10


-July 15, 2010-

The Board of County Commissioners today deferred for six weeks a request to enlarge the Consolidated Main Sewer District to include the proposed Blue River No. 21 sewer district and a funding request for $15.4 million to provide sewer mains to serve the area. The Board requested additional information from staff about the project, including the impact regarding wastewater EDU (Equivalent Dwelling Unit) rates on property owners and recommendations for possible changes in the county’s deferment policy about EDUs. A portion of the enlargement area, totaling approximately 1,312 acres of accessible land, is within the city of Overland Park. The city has given formal consent to the proposed enlargement within the city boundary. The remainder is in the unincorporated area, but within three miles of the cities of Overland Park and Leawood. No comments were received from Overland Park, Leawood, or from the Johnson County Planning Commission regarding the proposed enlargement in the unincorporated area. If authorized, development is expected to begin occurring with the availability of sanitary sewers, which is approximately five years after creation of the sewer district.

The Board affirmed the appointments of 24 members for the Strategic Transit Action Recommendation Taskforce (START). The taskforce will study the county’s Transit Strategic Plan, evaluate service options, and make recommendations on future public transportation strategies, including both short-term and long-term financing options for a comprehensive county-wide transit system and other public transportation and related linear amenities. START members include one appointment each by the six district commissioners; nine appointments by the Chairman; three representatives from the Johnson County Transportation Council; representatives from the cities of Mission, Overland Park, and Prairie Village; and three appointments from the Council of Mayors. A report from the taskforce on its recommendations is expected in late December or early January.

The Board ratified the Chairman’s appointments of Valorie Carson and Alicia Dean, both of Lenexa; Victor Glover, Olathe; and Kenneth Parker and Patrick Devine, both of Overland Park, as Johnson County representatives to a metropolitan Homelessness Task Force involving counties and cities in the Kansas City metropolitan region. The purpose of the task force is to find viable solutions, including immediate and long-term strategies, and funding options regarding issues with homelessness. A report of findings and recommendations from the Homelessness Task Force is expected in early 2011.

The Board ratified the Chairman’s reappointments of:

· Donald Sullivan, Fairway, as the chartered financial analyst to the Investment Review Group through June 22, 2012;

· Derek Sobelman, Gardner, as the firefight/EMT representative to the Board of Code Review through May 31, 2013; and,

· Randy Alewine, Olathe, as the private solid waste industry representative to the Solid Waste Management Committee through July 8, 2013;

The Board ratified the Chairman’s reappointment of Floyd Danner, Stilwell, as an unincorporated area representative to the Solid Waste Management Committee through July 8, 2013, and to the Planning Commission through October 4, 2010.

The Board ratified the Chairman’s reappointments of Roger Mason, Olathe, and George Lund, Overland Park, as incorporated area representatives to the Planning Commission through October 4, 2010.

The Board appointed Don Jarrett, Chief Counsel, as Interim Clerk of the Board of County Commissioners. Casey Cark, the current Clerk, has resigned his position, effective July 26, 2010, to become City Clerk of the Minneapolis City Council in Minnesota.

Finally, in other action, the Board:

· Proclaimed the 20th anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act. The act was signed on July 26, 1990, by President George H.W. Bush;

· Presented a Certificate of Recognition to the City of Merriam for winning the Energy Conservation Challenge;

· Granted an exception to competition and authorized the Stormwater Management Program to purchase stormwater sampling equipment manufactured by Teledyne ISCO and ancillary supplies in an amount not to exceed $140,000 to be financed from budgeted funding with partial reimbursement from participating cities; and,

· Approved the June 24, 2010, business session minutes.




9:30 Board of County Commissioners – Business Session

Agenda Review (July 29) – Following adjournment of Business Session


1:30 Committee of the Whole

1. BNSF Update

2. Hwy. 56 Corridor Management Plan and Cooperation Agreement

BOCC Meeting Synopses are produced by the Public Information & Communications Division of the County Manager’s Office as a public service, and provide a summation of actions and decisions made by the Board of County Commissioners. The Meeting Synopses do not constitute an official record of such actions and decisions, and should not be relied upon for legal purposes. For official records, please contact the Clerk of the Board of County Commissioners at (913) 715-0430.

Melissa McChesney

Deputy Clerk

Board of County Commissioners

111 S. Cherry Street, Suite 3300

Olathe, Kansas 66061

(913) 715-0425

(913) 715-0440

Certified SIRE Administrator

Related Posts:

Leave a Reply

4 − = three